Home Forums Grow Journal SF4000 vs 600w HPS Comparison Grow

last updated by M 1 year, 6 months ago
8 voices
51 replies
  • Author
      HippyFarmer420
      Participant

I am setting up a comparison journal between a Spider Farmer SF4000 and an old magnetic 600w HPS. .

I have never ran LED’s before “other then 1 veg run with a blurple light”, but I have been using HID’s for almost 17 years.

I will be running this run in a 10×13 ft room with the lights hanging side by side..

Pre mixed organic soils is what they will be ran with, with all plants receiving the same treatments.

Pics to come as we set this up..

Nate
      Participant

Hell yeah, I’m interested to see how this goes. I’ve been wanting to make the switch from MH/HPS to LED, it’s just been a bit of a struggle getting the funds together for the light I want to get.

HippyFarmer420
      Participant

I found this SF4000 second hand for 300CAD, It was barely used, dude bought it for his tomatoes but didn’t have time to grow anymore “he was a fekin cop” lol..

HippyFarmer420
      Participant

SF4000

HippyFarmer420
      Participant

600w magnetic ballast hung and ready to go..

HippyFarmer420
      Participant

Vivosun Super HPS Bulb

HippyFarmer420
      Participant

If I post 2 pics in 1 reply it wont send the reply through, what am I doing wrong here?

HippyFarmer420
      Participant

Strain being ran during this test..

Dotz “Runtz x Stardawg”

Z-Dawg “Zkittles x Stardawg”

HippyFarmer420
      Participant

Kosher Kings “Kosher Kush x GDP”

HippyFarmer420
      Participant

I will be germinating seeds the old fashion “paper towel” method, tried and proven for many years..

From there they will go into rapid rooters while their soil “cooks”..

HippyFarmer420
      Participant

I am anxious to see how this 450w led stacks up against a 600w, I know from start up tests “not using par meters yet”, but from visual the SF4000 is brighter then the 600w but they are different spectrums as well..